Celebrating Epworth Research Week 2017

13 June 2017

e were proud to celebrate Epworth Research Week 2017 with a full calendar of events. The week provides a number of opportunities to share, educate and present some of the exciting work we do around improving health outcomes for the community.

The main event for the week is the annual dinner, where winners of Epworth Research Institute grants and awards are announced.

Congratulations to all winners from the night:

Researcher of the Year: Dr Niall Corcoran, Urologist - Epworth Prostate Centre


Research Officer of the Year: Felicity Osmond, Research Nurse – Epworth Clinical Trials Unit


Research Leader of the year: Jennie Ponsford, Chair of Psychology – Epworth Monash Rehabilitation Research Centre

Grant winners:

Dr Murray Johns feasibility grant: 

Rebecca Ewers - Clinical Nurse Specialist, Intensive Care Unit Epworth Richmond                                              


Mr Arthur Day AM feasibility grant:
Dr Pamela Ross - Senior Occupational Therapist, Epworth Richmond                                                                          

Mr Kingsley Mills feasibility grant:
Dr Paul Smith - Lead Radiologist, Epworth Medical Imaging Geelong    

Professor Priscilla Kincaid-Smith development grant:
Steven McConchie - Group Manager, Clinical Institutes and Medical Audit                     


A/Professor Jack Mackay development grant:
Dr Nicole Tan - VMO Anaesthetist, Epworth Richmond, Eastern and Hawthorn

Mr Campbell Penfold development grant:
Mr James Lee - VMO General and Endocrine Surgeon, Epworth Richmond                                                     

A/Professor Joe Tjandra development grant:

Annie Curtin - Critical Care Registered Nurse, Epworth Richmond                                                                         

Professor Jack Cade AM development grant:
Bianca Fedele - Research Assistant, Epworth Monash Rehabilitation Medicine Unit, Epworth Richmond and Hawthorn          


Dr Graeme Sloman AM strategic grant:
Professor John Olver - Victor Smorgon Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine and Medical Director of Rehabilitation, Epworth Richmond and Hawthorn

Audrey Voss gynaecological cancer grant:
Dr Sumitra Ananda - Medical Oncologist VMO, Epworth Freemasons and Richmond                      

Poster award winners:                                  

Novice Researcher Poster Award: Olivia Leary 


Experienced Researcher Poster Award: Dr Jane Fitzpatrick


Allied Health Research Poster Award: Adam McKay 

Nursing Research Poster Award: Mietta Dudley


​​Pictured, from left to right: Epworth Honouree Mr Campbell Penfold, Colorectal Surgeon, Professor John Catford Executive Director Academic and Medical, Mrs Christine Penfold and Epworth Honouree Dr Graeme Sloman AO, Cardiologist​​​