Medical Advisory Committees


Medical practitioners play a pivotal role in the delivery of health care at Epworth, providing high quality expert specialist medical care to patients. Each clinical Division of Epworth HealthCare has its own Medical Advisory Committee (MAC) comprising leading clinicians appointed by their peers that advise Epworth on matters involving credentialing, clinical care, research and operational matters. Ensuring the quality of medical services is a key component of each Medical Advisory Committee.


Each MAC also has a role to play in ensuring the quality of medical education and supervision at Epworth, and continuing to promote research in each division. There are Medical Advisory Committees at Epworth Richmond, Epworth Eastern, Epworth Freemasons/Epworth Cliveden (combined MAC) and Epworth Rehabilitation (including Epworth Brighton, Epworth Camberwell, Epworth Hawthorn and Epworth Richmond Rehabilitation). A Medical Advisory Committee for Epworth Geelong will be established prior to that site opening in July 2016.


Group Medical Advisory Committee


Representatives from each of the Divisional MACs combine to form the Group Medical Advisory Council. The Group Medical Advisory Committee is a sub-committee of the Epworth Board of Management, and its functions are prescribed by the By-Laws on medical appointments to practice, clinical governance and other matters relating to clinical care and management.


The Chair of the Group MAC, Associate Professor Nerina Harley, is a member of Epworth’s Board of Management. The Executive Director Academic and Medical also sits on the Group Medical Advisory Committee.


Examples of the areas of focus for the MACs and the Group MAC include:

  • Strategic and operational development of the Epworth Group from a medical perspective, including approval of new interventional procedures for Tier C
  • Quality of care issues and referral of matters to relevant Clinical Institutes where appropriate for consideration and feedback
  • Matters of medical engagement and satisfaction
  • Advising on the medical workforce plan for the Epworth Group


Medical Directors


In addition to the advice provided by the respective Divisional Medical Advisory Committees, Epworth also has Divisional Medical Directors who assist administration in the management of Epworth in relation to clinician issues, clinical governance, medical appointments to practice, teaching and research activities plus strategic planning and development.


The Executive Director Academic & Medical (EDAM) is employed by the Group and is responsible for the implementation of good clinical governance across the organisation. The EDAM is chairman of the Clinical Governance Committee and of the Medical Staff Forum. The Clinical Governance Council is a committee of the Group Medical Advisory Council. The Medical Staff Forum comprises senior doctors who are employed by Epworth on either a whole time or part time basis.


  • Executive Director Academic & Medical: Professor John Catford
  • Epworth Eastern Medical Director: Dr Sherryl Wagstaff​
  • Epworth Freemasons Medical Director: Dr Vivek Nigam
  • Epworth Geelong Medical Director: (to be appointed)
  • Epworth Richmond Medical Director: Dr Debra O’Brien​
  • Epworth Rehabilitation Medical Director: Professor John Olver
  • Director of ECT: Dr Graham Wong

  • Director of Psychiatry: Professor Paul Fitzgerald

  • Epworth Executive